Beginning May 15, select WoW players will be invited to participate in a small-scale, focused closed beta test. Players will also get a chance to help put our servers and technology through their paces in a series of stress tests running from May through July—you can opt in now through Account Management and select the WoW Classic beta. Subsequent stress tests will extend the opportunity to even more players. Level caps will also be in place to ensure we’re emphasizing the “stress” in “stress test”
I recreated my very first character -- a human warrior, because in the last-push alpha test I joined in 2004, there was no Horde -- and logged in. Immediately, I was surprised by how good the graphics actually looked, for being 15 year old textures-on-polygons. Warcraft's bright colors and cartoony aesthetic continue to this day, so all the increased resolution and better-contoured characters in Lordaeron don't really change the game's visual aesthetic.
For the duration of the fight, creatures in the immediate area will not be visible to you (but they may still attack you if they wander too close). Keep in mind that other players will still be able to see you and attack you if you are eligible for player vs. player (PVP). Other players will also be able to view your pet battle in real time, including the pets involved as well as their health as the match progresses.
Kaivax, a WoW forum community manager, revealed that WoW Classic's class design, battleground mechanics and stats on existing items will be set to their 1.12 state, despite the game releasing content that expands beyond that. This removes "progressive itemization," so if the stats on a specific piece of equipment was changed during the original updates, that won't take effect in this version.
A new quest will pop up once your first pet reaches level 3. It will send you to either Audrey Burnhep in Stormwind or Varzok in Orgrimmar. These trainers will offer a quest chain to battle specific Pet Tamer NPCs on each continent. Defeating each of these NPCs will reward a nice chunk of experience for your pets, as well a Sack of Pet Supplies (which has the chance to drop the Porcupette companion, among the always-useful pet bandages).
Why was this downvoted? The swing analogy is horrible. There’s nothing physical that’s going to change when u play the game the exact same way as 04 05 06. The difference is u know what’s going on as opposed to not knowing where anything is. A good analogy would be playing Pokémon red again after beating the elite 4. The game itself won’t be any worse, it just will be easier and maybe less enjoyable if all you enjoyed is the aspect of not knowing where to go. But this is why pvp servers are magical, because each time you level a character, your leveling experience is different based on the encounters that happen while questing. In 05 U may have breezed through stv, but in classic u may spend an hour on a single quest solely because of the competition between factions on that particular quest.
When hovering over an ability, the tooltip will tell you whether or not that attack is weak or strong against certain pet types. Additionally, you can hover over the opposing team's pets and view their attacks during combat. This will be important since it’s a good idea to pit a pet that's strong against the opponent's pet who's vulnerable to that type.

Things like Tauren melee reach being bigger, which is something I experienced going away live during Black Temple Illidan progression (at least for that particular encounter), is confusing to players as it's a significant advantage over other races in some instances. No quest tracking is another apparently confusing issue, as many Mankirk's WIfe seekers well know, and there's a whole lot more where that came from:
Occasionally it's also been proposed to re-randomize all the gear. We didn't have best in slot lists back then. People weren't starting out as a fresh level 1 character with a complete list of which dungeons to run at 60 in order to gear as quickly and efficiently as possible. Now, all that data is available. If gear were re-randomized then all of those lists would become useless and thing would be close to how they were. Which is a more important part of the "vanilla experience?" the fact that item X from boss Y has exactly Z stats on it, or the voyage of discovery? Personally I think that voyage is way more important. Do you remember how many points of which stat on the ring or whatever that Darkmaster Gandling drops? I don't. Would it kill your experience if the BiS for every class were in a different dungeon so people had to actually play to figure it out rather than simply consult a spreadsheet? I don't think it would. For that matter, it probably wouldn't be a bad idea to handle it intelligently so that the better gear is in later dungeons. I remember there because some weird cases where level 40ish gear was better than anything that dropped in level 60 dungeons.
A new quest will pop up once your first pet reaches level 3. It will send you to either Audrey Burnhep in Stormwind or Varzok in Orgrimmar. These trainers will offer a quest chain to battle specific Pet Tamer NPCs on each continent. Defeating each of these NPCs will reward a nice chunk of experience for your pets, as well a Sack of Pet Supplies (which has the chance to drop the Porcupette companion, among the always-useful pet bandages).
On March 23, 2018, Zygor Guides announced that they would end support for their ESO guide. Later, via answers given on the forums, they confirmed they would not add a leveling guide for Summerset. Their guide is Public Domain with Zygor's blessing for the community to create guides. So I took it upon myself to create a Summerset guide for the ESO community.
On March 23, 2018, Zygor Guides announced that they would end support for their ESO guide. Later, via answers given on the forums, they confirmed they would not add a leveling guide for Summerset. Their guide is Public Domain with Zygor's blessing for the community to create guides. So I took it upon myself to create a Summerset guide for the ESO community.
Hey! Just came back from the game, looking to play bfa but i had no idea what to do when i logged on. It was all a bit confusing and i know nothing about the current content. So after some frustration i bought zygor again (haven't used it since cata ..) and i do currently feel more comfortable. I'm following the guides from the 'suggested' tab in zygor but i'm just really unsure if what i'm doing is even relevant. I know the end of the expansion is coming so i'd hate to waste my time. OK i will list the things it's been telling me to do. 

Analogy: think back on riding the swings in kindergarten. Was it fun? Now, imagine going back to those swings exactly as they were, and sitting in them now, as an adult. They're too small. They don't fit. Your feet drag on the ground because they're so low to the ground. The bar over your head is low enough that you can reach out and touch it, and even at the highest the swing will go, it's only about chest high when you're standing up. It's exactly the same swing, but riding on it now is a very different experience, yes?
For the duration of the fight, creatures in the immediate area will not be visible to you (but they may still attack you if they wander too close). Keep in mind that other players will still be able to see you and attack you if you are eligible for player vs. player (PVP). Other players will also be able to view your pet battle in real time, including the pets involved as well as their health as the match progresses.
Blizzard has given us a pile of new information on World of Warcraft Classic, including the fact that it’ll finally release this August. But you won’t have to wait quite that long to start playing for yourself – the WoW Classic beta goes live tomorrow, May 15. This is a closed beta, and Blizzard says it’s pretty limited in scope, but there will be more chances to play heading into the WoW Classic release date.
May 19, 2016 Welcome. Please Read! Welcome to the New Player Help and Guides forum! This forum is here to provide you with a friendly environment where you can ask questions and receive helpful information from experienced players and learn more about the adventures that await you! Community forums work best when participants treat their fellow posters with respect and courtesy, so we ask that you take the time to read through the forum Code of Conduct (http://us.battle.net/en/community/conduct) and guidelines (http://us.battle.net/wow/en/forum/topic/15252595157) before posting. Important Reminders: Search The search function at the top of the World of Warcraft community site is extremely effective and robust. Before you create a new forum topic, please be use it to search for similar topics, blog posts, or web pages that may contain the answer for which you are looking. Making a new thread on an existing subject can result in your thread being deleted or, if you continue to re-post the same content, the loss of your forum privileges for spamming. Rating The forum rating system can be used to promote positive discussion, demote unhelpful comments, and even report posts that violate the forum Code of Conduct. By hovering over a post you'll be presented with several options, including a "thumbs up" (Like) and a "thumbs down" (Dislike) icon. Clicking the "thumbs up" icon will rate the post up. If enough people like a post, it will gain a Highly Rated status and appear at the top of related search results. Highly Rated posts will also have a highlighted background. Clicking the "thumbs down" icon will expand a drop-down menu which will include "Dislike," "Trolling, "Spam" and "Report" options. "Dislike" will rate the post down. If enough people dislike a post, it will be darkened, and with a lot of dislikes it will be hidden completely. You can also quickly report a post as trolling or spam, or use the report function to fill out a more comprehensive description of a violation. Please note that you can only rate each post once. Use your power wisely to help foster a positive and helpful forum community. Have fun posting on these forums, and good luck with your adventures in Azeroth! Guidelines In addition to the forum Code of Conduct (http://us.battle.net/en-us/community/conduct), here are some common courtesy guidelines to follow. While these do technically fall within the bounds of the Code of Conduct, these cover more specific examples of common errors that will lead to thread deletions or posting privileges being revoked. [ul] The World of Warcraft forums are for discussion of topics directly related to World of Warcraft. The forums here are specifically to discuss the game and related topics. Any topics not related to World of Warcraft, Battle.net, or Blizzard Entertainment are subject to deletion. Don't post in all capital letters, use a misleading title, excessive punctuation, and/or non-standard symbols, etc. While everyone wants their posts read, we ask you to refrain from using these types of tactics in order to bring more people to your thread. Let your post stand on its own merit. Threads violating this guideline are subject to deletion. Using the words "Blizzard," "Blue," or any community team members' names in a thread topic is frowned upon. Everyone would like Blizzard to read and acknowledge his or her post, and we understand that; however, use of such words in the subject line does not help that come to pass. Please make your thread title relevant to the post subject. Threads violating this guideline are subject to deletion. Posting "First" or IBTL ("in before lock") constitutes as spamming. You will be suspended if you create a post that is intended to call out that you achieved a specific reply number in a thread. This is considered spamming. Posting IBTL ("in before the lock") is not helpful, and if you feel a thread should be moderated please use the rating button to do so. Do not "bump" posts. The act of posting simply to bump a thread is considered spamming. This also includes bumping very old threads for no reason (called "necro bumping" or "necroing"). Petition posts are frowned upon. These are discussion forums and, as such, we ask that you hold discussions. Creating a thread to ask for replies as votes is not a discussion. Threads violating this guideline are subject to deletion. Do not post about locked or deleted threads. Posts that are moderated have a reason behind the moderation. It's up to you to read the forum Code of Conduct and these guidelines to determine what you did wrong, learn from your mistake, and attempt to post again without breaking any rules. Kaivax0 May 19, 2016
You’ll get a small window inside the game with instructions for what you need to do next, every step of the way to 120. You’ll also get a waypoint arrow that points you in the right direction to go at all times. If this sounds extremely convenient, you’re right! Zygor’s leveling guide/addon has completely taken the frustration out of leveling for me, personally. No more reading comments on WoWHead about how to complete quests. No more getting stuck, frustrated and bored with leveling. And no more feeling like WoW takes too much effort.
Why was this downvoted? The swing analogy is horrible. There’s nothing physical that’s going to change when u play the game the exact same way as 04 05 06. The difference is u know what’s going on as opposed to not knowing where anything is. A good analogy would be playing Pokémon red again after beating the elite 4. The game itself won’t be any worse, it just will be easier and maybe less enjoyable if all you enjoyed is the aspect of not knowing where to go. But this is why pvp servers are magical, because each time you level a character, your leveling experience is different based on the encounters that happen while questing. In 05 U may have breezed through stv, but in classic u may spend an hour on a single quest solely because of the competition between factions on that particular quest.
Nov 6 are twinks an issue in high level pvp hello i have not played since cat and when i found out accounts were upgraded to the last xpack i started played without a sub. i mainly like to pvp but the 20-29 bracket is won by who has the most twinks so the result is either a slaughter or a carry neither of these are fun for anyone who likes competitive gameplay. i also feel like i have little to no impact on the outcome or outside running flags (if i'm not 3 shoted by a twink). it seems no matter how skilled the player is if you don't have the gear you're not going to do well. anyway is every bracket like this or is this just a issue with 10-19/20-29 brackets? i know 10-19 is unplayable if your not twinked. i'm sorry i didn't sub last xpack it sounded like pvp was better than.Piale3 Nov 6
Only really to expand on Gráinne's comment as regards the 'collecting' and 'roster development' sections - which are, as said 'distinct' although they are intrinsically linked - I would like to point you in the direction of the in-game Achievements > Battle Pets > Collect tab. There are a series of achievements called Raiding With Leashes, pretty much all of which can be completed via the auction house - if you have the gold/inclination - or by completing old raids.  

Nov 5 Yellow names I got killed by an undead character with a yellow name. I know some npcs are green and players on your side are blue. Is this an enemy player or an npc? I thought the undead and blood elves were on the same side but I think it might have been a player because he/she jumped over and over again on my corpse after I was dead. I'm really confused by this.Lithelilara12 Nov 5
Why was this downvoted? The swing analogy is horrible. There’s nothing physical that’s going to change when u play the game the exact same way as 04 05 06. The difference is u know what’s going on as opposed to not knowing where anything is. A good analogy would be playing Pokémon red again after beating the elite 4. The game itself won’t be any worse, it just will be easier and maybe less enjoyable if all you enjoyed is the aspect of not knowing where to go. But this is why pvp servers are magical, because each time you level a character, your leveling experience is different based on the encounters that happen while questing. In 05 U may have breezed through stv, but in classic u may spend an hour on a single quest solely because of the competition between factions on that particular quest.

Bonz, Sid, and Zygor are then seen right before the Battle City finals. The three reside in a nearby cemetery and trick people into giving up their Locator Cards. However, Yami Bakura is not intimidated by their act and challenges them to a Duel in which the winner gets all the Locator Cards, and thus goes directly to the Battle City Finals. Bakura wins in just a few moves, and then banishes them to Hell (the Shadow Realm in the dub).
On March 23, 2018, Zygor Guides announced that they would end support for their ESO guide. Later, via answers given on the forums, they confirmed they would not add a leveling guide for Summerset. Their guide is Public Domain with Zygor's blessing for the community to create guides. So I took it upon myself to create a Summerset guide for the ESO community.
Nov 15 4 Garrison Mounts You Can get with ease Hi guys, I decided to make a video about the Garrison Invasion mounts and how you can get them. The percentage of mount drops are pretty high, so if you want to learn more check out this video I made: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UpITHj8d16w&t=10s With that same character, I made another guide about what buildings I choose and routes I take to make gold using a Draenor Garrison: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C8BcMEBpZ6o&t=19s Let me know what you think!Druidria0 Nov 15
World of Warcraft Classic is currently in beta, which means some players are getting a chance to experience a much older version of the MMO ahead of its release. WoW Classic is based on how WoW played in August 2006, back around update 1.12. Back then, things were different. Tauren hitboxes were much larger, sitting could cause certain combat effects to not trigger and completed quests were marked with dots and not question marks. Strange days.
Nov 6 Pet battle advice and leveling class Hi all. Been doing pet battling so far. I like it a lot. But I am not getting very much experience for my class Does the experience get better later on? I am a level 2 orc shaman with about 9 level 3 pets. I will keep leveling my pets but the experience feels very bad for my shaman levels. Any pet battle advice is welcome. Thanks. Also I have a few heirlooms and some gold.Goldshaman4 Nov 6
1 All expansion guides are written in the Battle for Azeroth beta in order to have them ready on launch day. It's important to note that betas can be buggy and unstable and may delay and even halt our progress on the guides. Furthermore, the time between the start of beta and the announced release of Battle for Azeroth is much shorter (by about 2-3 months) than past betas. As a result, our primary focus is to have the Leveling guides updated by the launch, and only if those are complete and time remains will we work on updating the remaining guides. All guides not finished in beta will be updated post launch. You can read more about this here.
Why was this downvoted? The swing analogy is horrible. There’s nothing physical that’s going to change when u play the game the exact same way as 04 05 06. The difference is u know what’s going on as opposed to not knowing where anything is. A good analogy would be playing Pokémon red again after beating the elite 4. The game itself won’t be any worse, it just will be easier and maybe less enjoyable if all you enjoyed is the aspect of not knowing where to go. But this is why pvp servers are magical, because each time you level a character, your leveling experience is different based on the encounters that happen while questing. In 05 U may have breezed through stv, but in classic u may spend an hour on a single quest solely because of the competition between factions on that particular quest.
Even though the guide was developed with a hunter, the guide can be followed by any class.  Except you have to do your class's quests which aren't a whole lot.  I do have full intention to make my guide friendly with all classes in the future by listing all of their steps as well.  There will be a toggle that allows you to show which class's steps you want to see in the guide.  But this is coming later.
Oct 8 New Player Terms and Abbreviations Greetings and welcome to Warcraft! As a new player you may have seen many acronyms and abbreviations, this short guide (using information from oflegends with full permission) should be helpful in your quest to understand what the heck people are saying :) If anyone notices any missing from this list please let me know. General Terms AFAIK - As Far As I Know AFK – Away From Keyboard Asap - As soon as possible ATM – At the Moment BBS – Be Back Soon Bio - Biological function break (Bathroom, etc.) BS - Can mean either Blacksmith or Bull Poopie, depending on context BRB – Be Right Back BRT - Be right there BTW – By The Way BYO – Buy/Bring Your Own D/C - Disconnected (from the game) EULA - End User License Agreement, a legal document of most games ERP – Erotic Role Play FPS - First-Person Shooter (games), or Frames per Second (WoW) depending on context FYI – For Your Information FTL - For the Loss/Lose (meaning you dislike something) FTW - For the Win (meaning you think something is awesome) GG – Good Game GJ – Good Job GL - Good Luck GTFO – Get the Flip Out/Off GTG/G2G - Means either "good to go" or "got to go", depending on context GZ - Grats H/O – Hold on IDC – I don’t care (IDRC can also be used for “I don’t really care”). IDK – I don’t know. IIRC - If I Recall Correctly IMHO/IMCO – In My Honest/Humble Opinion/In My Considered Opinion IMO – In My Opinion IRL – In Real Life JK - Just kidding! LAWL - Laugh(ing) a Whole Lot LMAO – Laughing My (rear end) Off LMK – Let Me Know LOL – Laughing Out Loud Lul - A variation of "Lol", the letters don't individually stand for anything. MMORPG – Massively Multiplayer Online Roleplaying Game Newb – Newbie (A new person), not usually used to insult Noob – A generally insulting term for someone who is disruptive/inattentive. (Some players think newb and noob mean the same thing, and refer to newbies as noobs.) NP - No Problem NPC – Non-player character (a computer-run person in the game) NTY – No, Thank You Nub – Non-useful body. Most players simply throw this term around. Ofc – Of course OIC – Oh, I See OMG/zOMG - Oh my God/Gosh OMGWTFBBQ - Expresses total shock or confusion to the point of the brain being reduced to barbecue. OMW – On My Way OP – Original Post(er) (forums), Overpowered (class, spell, etc) Pls/Plz/Plox - Please PvE – Player versus Environment PvP – Player versus Player Pwn – Typo of the word “own”, usually used when someone is overwhelmingly defeated. "Pawn/pown" is also sometimes typed. ROFL – Rolling on Floor Laughing RP – Role Play (Usually PvE) RPPvP – Role Play Player versus Player Srsly - Seriously Sry/Soz - Sorry TL;DR – Too long; didn’t read TMI – Too Much Information ToU - Terms of Use, a legal document of most games Troll – Someone who intentionally provokes unfavorable reactions in others TY – Thank You w/e - Whatever WB – Welcome Back w00t! - Originally was a combination of the words "wow, loot!" But is now used just to express excitement. WTF - See below abbreviation; replace "hell" with less desirable word WTH – What/Who The Hell WTV – Whatever XD – A smiley face. Think of the biggest grin you can make.Kagara97 Oct 8

Other methods have been discussed. For example, mods could be crippled. DBM didn't exist back then, and the other boss that did that I don't remember the name of, didn't do as much back then as DBM does now. If our goal is to recreate the experience as it was, then obviously not having DBM would be a reasonable way to accomplish that. DBM simply existing, makes the game today easier than it was. So disallow it. Again, this is completely consistent with the spirit of vanilla. Remember one-button-decursing? That was nerfed. They crippled the capabilities of the modding API to disallow that because it made the game too easy. So what if they cripple it a little bit more to once again make the game less easy?
Swim Speed Potions (used especially at lvl 37 for Faldir's Cove in Arathi Highlands and lvl 57 in WPL).  Try to get multiple stacks of these.  I also recommend keeping a stack of these always in your bags.  You will frequently pass rivers and lakes and can use these potions to pass them faster through out the guide.  Please note that these potions do not stack with Druid's Aquatic Form and Glyph of Aquatic Form.
Feb 6, 2018 ======= Can't Find the Right Class/Race/Alt? ... ^ Is that big enough? If you're giving advice or answering these threads, see guidelines at the end of this guide. I'm a regular poster on this forum, and one of the most common threads is the classic "I don't know what class/race to be" thread. The main problem with these threads is that the original poster often doesn't give readers enough information to make any suggestions. Help us out, and we'll try to help you :) This is a guide on how to write a detailed "Help me find a class/race" thread. This is not a guide on how to find the right class/race...just on how to ask for help about it. Both sections here can have some gray area, so don't be afraid to give us more information. It's just that veteran WoW players usually know a bit more about the classes themselves so they have more background. They also know more terminology, so it's easier to interrogate them. NEW ADDITION: ICE'S CLASS/RACE SPINNERS! http://img819.imageshack.us/img819/2969/classspinner.jpg ... THINGS THAT DO NOT MATTER: Faction. All classes can be played on both factions. Survivability. Seriously, you can live to hit the level cap. All classes have this. PvP viability. Again, all classes have this. Doesn't matter unless you're twinking. Raid/group desirability. The only reason you'd be refused from a group is because 1) you're undergeared/bad or 2) they have a lot of that class already. Everyone is viable - DPS are balanced, healers are balanced, tanks are balanced. You want the "best" class/race combo. There isn't a best combo or a best class or a best race. It doesn't exist. Most OP (overpowered) class. Blizzard changes the class balance so much that leveling something purely to be "overpowered" is a futile idea. By the time you hit level cap, the balance would have shifted. Right now there ISN'T a super godly class anyway. Most fun class. I want a bumper sticker that says "Fun is subjective." What I think is fun might not be your cup of tea, so making a good suggestion for you based on "fun" isn't going to be accurate. Use this chart: low Impact on Performance high 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 class gear skill spec IF YOU'RE NEW TO THE GAME AND HAVE NEVER PLAYED: ---> OR HAVE NOT REACHED LEVEL 60 YET Do you want to have a permanent pet? Is a temporary one okay with you? Or does it not matter if you have a pet? Are you partial to cloth wearers or do you want a little more bulk in your armor? What have you played in other games before? Maybe you played a caster in another game and liked it, or have a fondness for barbarians/warriors. WoW might have a rough equivalent for you! Do you want to be able to heal yourself and others, or are you okay with lacking those spells? Which is your preference: attacking enemies from a distance or being up in their faces? Are you the sneaky type or do you take pleasure ripping out internal organs as a greeting right off the bat? Do you want to be on the front lines with a shield or watching over your group to keep them safe? Will you be leveling with a friend or mostly on your own? If you're doing it with a friend, what are they planning to level, or have they not decided yet? Have you read about classes at all yet? If so, what stands out as interesting to you? Have you tried any classes already? Are you interested in the lore or story of Warcraft? Some classes have a lot of easily-absorbed lore while others are a little "less detailed" in their history. Interested in roleplaying at all? This goes with the previous question, but some races/classes are easier to roleplay as a newbie than others (with lots of history to adhere to). Do any of the races stick out to you as being attractive? Not every race can be every class, so if you have an early favorite (or if you really dislike one in particular) this can narrow things down.Icedragon172 Feb 6, 2018
×